Author Topic: Anatomy as the Roots of Intuition  (Read 6062 times)

venus

• instructor
Anatomy as the Roots of Intuition
« on: August 21, 2008, 02:32:16 PM »

I have been teaching anatomy to massage therapists for about 10 years now.  Some people who get to know me are surprised by this fact.  Most people see me as a sensitive and intuitive person and not the “anatomy type.”  It is true I am a very sensitive person.  I love tapping into my intuition and enjoy empathic connections with my clients. However, I have never seen that as contrary to being the “anatomy type.”

I have always loved science and really enjoy learning about the body.  I have found over the years that my study of anatomy has actually vastly increased my ability to be intuitive.  When I first started on my journey as a healer I would often have impulses to go to one part of the body or another without knowing why.  I would usually follow those impulses, but would have a nagging little voice in my head that would say, “why are you doing that?”  If, my client asked me that same question, I would feel uncomfortable and either make something up or just let them know that I had an intuition.  Sometimes this would satisfy them and other times I would feel as if my confidence had been undermined in some way.  I wasn't satisfied with that and these experiences fueled my thirst for understanding.