Author Topic: AB 1147 Changing Requirements for Massage Certification in CA Signed Into Law  (Read 1338 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

diamondlight

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 314

AB 1147, a bill changing the requirements for certification as a massage therapist in California, was signed into law by the governor today.
If goes into effect on January 1, 2015.

Among the ways the new law will affect the certification of massage therapist in California are ~

Beginning on January 1, 2015, no new Massage Practitioner certificates for 250 hours of training will be issued and 500 hours of training from an approved school will be the minimum required for certification. Those already certified as Massage Practitioners with 250 hours of training by the end of 2014 will be able to maintain their certification without further training provided they keep their certification current by renewing every 2 years as required.

Beginning on January 1, 2015, all new applicants for Massage Therapist certificates will also be required to pass a written exam. Those already certified as Massage Therapists by the end of 2014 will be able to maintain their certification without taking the exam, provided they keep their certification current by renewing every 2 years as required.

For further information about the new law go to http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140AB1147
Logged